AFWA Honors RBFF's Stephanie Hussey, others with its 2019 Annual Awards

The Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (AFWA) recognized eight individuals, two state agencies and one private landowner for their dedication to advancing fish and wildlife conservation at the Association’s Annual Awards Ceremony held on September 24, 2019 in St. Paul, Minnesota.


The Association presented two special recognition awards for outstanding commitment to the work of AFWA to Stephanie Hussey with the Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation, and Chris Parish with The Peregrine Fund. 

As the State R3 Program Director for the Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation (RBFF), Stephanie Hussey serves as liaison with state fish and wildlife agencies in R3 efforts, from the initial stages of planning and deliberation, training plan development, to the ultimate goal of implementing new and improved strategies to recruit new anglers and boaters, retain an agency’s lifelong supporters, and reactivating those who lost their way. In leading RBFF’s state R3 program development, Stephanie has lent her support and encouragement to help state agencies increase participation in fishing and boating through the creation of many unique and key initiatives and programs.

Although Chris Parish works tirelessly to develop partnerships between non-profit organizations and other management agencies, he has not forgotten that the individual sportsmen and women are the most important partner to gain in this effort, and he will work as long as any individual to understand issues and to create a culture where voluntary change can occur. His commitment to wildlife and the ideals of the North American Model of Wildlife Management are exemplified in every aspect of Chris’s professional and personal life.

Other award recipients include:

Seth Gordon Award

Ed Carter, Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency


John L. Morris Award

Pete Cimillaro, Arizona Game & Fish Department


Boone and Crockett Award

Doug Burt, Arizona Game & Fish Department


Mark J Reeff Memorial Award

Samantha Pedder, Council to Advance Hunting and the Shooting Sports


Private Lands Fish and Wildlife Stewardship Award

Nelson J. Roach, Couch Mountain Ranch


Stephen Kellert Award

Crystal Egli, Colorado Parks and Wildlife


Gary Taylor Award

Anna Seidman, Safari Club International


Conservation Law Enforcement Award

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission Division of Law Enforcement Port Investigations Team


Learn more about the awards and recipients from AFWA's official press release.


The Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies represents North America’s fish and wildlife agencies to advance sound, science-based management and conservation of fish and wildlife and their habitats in the public interest. The Association represents its state agency members on Capitol Hill and before the Administration to advance favorable fish and wildlife conservation policy and funding and works to ensure that all entities work collaboratively on the most important issues. The Association also provides member agencies with coordination services on cross-cutting as well as species-based programs that range from birds, fish habitat and energy development to climate change, wildlife action plans, conservation education, leadership training and international relations. Working together, the Association’s member agencies are ensuring that North American fish and wildlife management has a clear and collective voice.