Awards & Honors

Take Me Fishing Website Lands Seven Prestigious 2012 W³ Awards

November 2012 – The Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation (RBFF) consumer website, along with the mobile version of the website and its Fishington community, received multiple W³ Awards for creative excellence on the web. The 2012 W³ Awards, which are sanctioned and judged by the International Academy of the Visual Arts (IAVA), received more than 3,000 entries. This is the seventh year of the W³ Awards and the fourth consecutive year that has been recognized as a W3 winner. The awards place Take Me Fishing in the same ranks as fellow website winners and sector giants eBay, Cisco, Sony and Nike.

The website, its mobile version and its Fishington online community, received the following honors:


  • Fishington, Community


  •, Lifestyle
  •, Homepage
  •, Visual Appeal
  • Fishington, Social/Networking
  • Mobile Version, Mobile Sites: Education
  • Mobile Version, Mobile Sites: Sports & Recreation

“Online, mobile and social networking communications play a larger role in our lives now than ever before,” said RBFF President and CEO Frank Peterson. “We are proud to receive these 2012 W³ Awards. The awards confirm that these critical tools are being used to the best advantage in our efforts to reach and involve millions of new participants in boating and fishing.”

In FY 2012, digital tools attracted more than 5.2 million visits and won several awards in addition to the coveted W³ Awards. The website, mobile version and Fishington community also earned a Gold Circle Award from the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE), five Gold Awards and four Silver Awards in the Annual Communicator Awards Competition, and were recognized as “Best in Industry” in the Web Marketing Association’s WebAwards competition.

The W³ Awards honors creative excellence on the web, and recognizes the creative and marketing professionals behind award winning websites, marketing programs, and video work created for the web. A complete list of W³ Award Winners is available at